thealtmommy


Black Bean and Rice Burritos

I did not plan to post this recipe so soon.  Whenever I came up with this dish, I cooked it just hoping that it would be okay.  It ended up tasting GREAT.  I knew immediately that I wanted to share it with you guys.  I wanted to wait until I had a chance to cook it again so I could have a snazzy post with step-by-step photos.  I’m just too excited to share the recipe to wait!  It may be a week or more before I can cook it again.  I will update with beautiful pictures soon, but just trust me… this is an awesome dish!  Big thanks to TheAltDaddy for taking these pictures for me!

Black Bean and Rice Burritos

Makes approximately 6 burritos.

INGREDIENTS:

– 1/2 Cup rice (I used Lundberg’s Organic Heirloom Short-Grain Brown Rice)
– 1 tbspCoconut or Olive oil (I prefer coconut, but you guys know that!)
– 1/2 Onion, Chopped
– 1 Clove minced garlic
– 1/2 Chopped and seeded jalapeno pepper
– 1/2 Can green chiles
– 1/2 tsp Seasoning Sal
– 1/2 tsp Oregano
– 1 can black beans (or 1 cup of cooked black beans)
– Salt, pepper, and queso blanco to taste
– Tortillas

IMG_0285

1.  Cook rice according to package.  I highly recommend Lundberg’s Organic Heirloom Short-grain Brown Rice.  No, they do not sponsor my blog.  I am just simply totally in love with this product.  Here is a (crappy cell phone quality) picture so you’ll know what to look for if you choose to use this brand.

Image

2.  As the rice cooks, pour the oil in a large pan and let it heat up.  Once the oil is hot, saute the jalapeno, green chiles, onion, and garlic.  I added my oregano, seasoning salt, and black pepper in at this point.

IMG_0286

3.  Once the peppers and onion are soft, add the beans to the pan.  Heat the beans with the mixture of peppers, onion, and spices.  The beans will really absorb the flavor and give the dish a great taste.

IMG_0287

4.  When the rice is done cooking, add it in with the beans.  If you like cheese, sprinkle some queso blanco on top of the rice and beans, and heat until the cheese is melted.

IMG_0290

5.  Heat a cast iron skillet.  Place the rice and bean mixture in the center of a tortilla.  Roll it up and place the burrito on the cast iron skillet.  I find this to be easiest if you heat it seam-side down first.  Brown for 1-3 minutes, flip, and repeat.

IMG_0292 IMG_0293

6.  Enjoy!

IMG_0294

 

Let me know how you like the recipe if anybody decides to try it.

[And don’t judge me by my dirty stove or lack of burrito folding skills!]

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

